To do or not to do

God does not desire that we enjoy anything but doing the right thing. At times this may mean working for the right thing, other times it may mean suffering wrongdoings. But it shall never mean meandering or embracing chaos. I think about those who enjoy the dating game. Surely Satan couldn’t manifest a more loyal lot. Kidding.

Some times one has to just put their head down and work. I challenge any Protestant to prove that this act is not the sincerest form of faith made visible by a human being. With no certainty except that one may please God in the end, we take to doing such things as suffer terrible dates, studying to enter a certain career, entering seminary/a monastery/nunnery, read the Bible, pray the Rosary, attend Mass, and so on. God bless whoever feels God’s grace upon them even as they do these things, but I usually don’t. I have no consolation except that God may, may, look on me with approval. I’ve had enough arguments with friends throughout every period of my life to know I can’t really find a voice of approval among the terrestrial, I’ve formed enough regret to know I should have done something I knew was right to know I have to distrust my own feelings and put my faith in Something. I cannot rely on whether I get what I want or feel good about what’s going on.

On the Book of Job, Chesterton writes this:

“If prosperity is regarded as the reward of virtue it will be regarded as the symptom of virtue. Men will leave off the heavy task of making good men successful. They will adopt the easier task of making out successful men good.”
What Chesterton is saying is that virtue is something higher, more important than success. Success may only come after the fact, if it should ever come at all. One has to separate virtue from the successful if one is to ever put either in their proper place with proper proportion.
Leave a Reply

